Public Health Online Resource for Careers, Skills and Training

Home  »  Accessing education and training  »  The NHS and Local Government  »  I work in the NHS  »  England


From 1 July 2006, the NHS in England has had 10 Strategic Health Authorities. Strategic Health Authorities (SHAs) manage the NHS locally and are a key link between the Department of Health and the NHS.

They are tasked with delivering stronger commissioning functions, leading to improved services for patients and better value for money for the taxpayer. They are responsible for:

  • developing plans for improving health services in their local area, 
  • making sure local health services are of a high quality and are performing well, 
  • increasing the capacity of local health services - so they can provide more services, and 
  • making sure national priorities—for example, programmes for improving the health of their local population—are integrated into local health service plans.

As part of delivering improved health and wellbeing SHAs work with NHS and other organisations to ensure health is at the heart of everything they do so that the local population benefits.

To do this SHAs work with organisations to identify and develop the appropriate roles with the correct levels of skills and knowledge required to deliver improved health and wellbeing. This can then be translated into the development and commissioning of relevant training and education programmes to produce the appropriate workforce.

    For an overview of education and training funding in the NHS in England, click here. For further information specific to your area, click on a region (either on the map or in the list) below:

    Map of UK regions
    • East Midlands
      (Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Northamptonshire)
    • East Of England
      (Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire, Essex)
    • London
    • North East
      (Durham, Northumberland)
    • North West
      (Cumbria, Lancashire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Cheshire)
    • South Central
      (Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire, Hampshire, Isle of Wight
    • South East Coast
      (West Sussex, East Sussex, Kent, Hastings and Rother, Brighton and Hove, Surrey, Medway)
    • South West
      (Gloucestershire, Wiltshire, Somerset, Dorset, Devon, Cornwall)
    • West Midlands
      (Staffordshire, Shropshire, West Midlands, Worcestershire, Warwickshire, Herefordshire)
    • Yorkshire and the Humber
      (North Yorkshire, West Yorkshire, Humber, S. Yorkshire)

    Back to top