Public Health Online Resource for Careers, Skills and Training

Home  »  Accessing education and training  »  The NHS and Local Government  »  I work in the NHS  »  Scotland


NHS Scotland is structured into territorial and special Health Boards; these in turn have Community Health Partnerships where most of the health improvement workforce is located. NHS Health Scotland is a special Health Board and has a strategic role to support territorial Health Boards with Health Improvement Workforce Development to deliver health improvement targets and to reduce health inequalities; infrastructure development is linked to A Force for Improvement, the national workforce development strategy.

NHS Health Scotland currently funds the only 2 non-medical Public Health specialist posts in Scotland supported by the National Education Board for Scotland.

Currently there is no central workforce plan or central funding for public health practitioner development. Territorial Boards support their multi disciplinary Health Improvement workforce through local funding & workforce development plans or frameworks.

The NHS Knowledge and Skills Framework (KSF) support staff-development through personal development planning. Where possible local health boards link with Academic providers to strengthen Public Health /Health Improvement input into post graduate Public Health courses and aim to influence the development of public/community health, undergraduate pathways.

Public Health career advice and guidance is primarily through a searchable database hosted by NHS Health Scotland accessible through their website or alternatively through local learning & development advisors based within Health Boards or Community Health Partnerships.

  • NHS Health Scotland: for information on workforce development support from the national health improvement agency, click here.

For further information specific to your area, click on a region below:

Map of Scottish regions
  • Ayrshire and Arran
  • Borders
  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • Fife
  • Forth Valley
  • Grampian
  • Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Highland
  • Lanarkshire
  • Lothian
  • Orkney
  • Shetland
  • Tayside
  • Western Isles 

Back to top